Jaipur!

So for the past two days Brett and I have been in Jaipur, the pink city (although we think it looks like terra cotta) and the capital of Rajasthan. First we saw the wind palace Which was stunning. Built to withstand the heat in Jaipur the king had hundreds of windows built to cool his palace. Supposedly it was better than air conditioning. It get to 120 in the summer months so I hope it worked otherwise it would be a pretty sweaty place.

20120202-185720.jpg

After that I completed one of my dreams when I got to ride an… ELEPHANT!!!! Ahhhhh anyone who knows me knows that this is the highlight of my trip. I adore elephants and being able to ride one was magical!

Next was lunch and I usually don’t talk that much about the food but this could be the best thing I have ever eaten. Our driver Deepok took us to the Rainbow Restaurant in order to get dosas!
Example picture:

20120202-190627.jpg

This dosa was about twice the size of the picture and was so good I wanted to die and go to heaven. The outside is like a flaky pancake and the inside was filled with veggies nuts cheese and came with a mango chutney and a mint chutney dipping sauce. The meal was so big that everyone was staring at us and I felt like I was on an episode of man v food. We finished of course because you can’t leave something like that on the plate. Wow wow wow.

After a full stomach we went shopping. Jaipur is famous for gems, fabric, and blue pottery and we got some of it all. Well at least Brett did. I did however score a really nice bed cover for Jessica! I hope she loves it cus I had a “say yes to the dress” moment with it! Handmade is all I will say and I will leave it as a surprise for her. I am sure she will blog about it on her site when she gets it. We spent hours shopping and the businessmen here love Brett and I. They keep throwing in some extra gifts which is always welcomed! Got mom her birthday present and some stuff for the yoga studio. Whew I was exhausted. My mom and sisters know that if I am shopping for more than an hour it is an absolute miracle and Brett and I shopped from 1-9.

The day ended with our first ever Bollywood film: Agneepath. It was a three hour film completely in Hindi but I surprisingly loved it. The cinema here is stunning with expansive screens and ornate decorations and the red velvet curtains of yesterday. Here is a pic of the movie poster and a link to the official song.

20120202-192248.jpg

official song

Alright good night from me. Tomorrow is a tiger safari and then on to Agra for the Taj Mahal

2 thoughts on “Jaipur!

  1. I am soooooo excited for my handmade bedspread – I literally can not wait!!!! AND I can’t believe you shopped for 8 hours – I say no fair!!! AND AND….please tell me you took pics of you on top of the elephant! Amazing!!

Leave a comment